Section 25
Section 25

Discography > From The Hip [FBN 33 CD]

Factory Benelux presents a special 30th anniversary digipack edition of From The Hip, the pioneering 1984 electro album by cult Factory Records group Section 25, produced by Bernard Sumner of New Order.

Recorded in 1983, From The Hip was the band's third album for Factory, and the first to pursue a more accessible musical direction, thanks largely to new members Jenny Cassidy and Angela Flowers. Adopting state of the art Roland electronics, Section 25 graduated from barbed post-punk to smooth electronic pop, much of which prefigured techno and house styles, and spawned an enduring club/dance hit in the Megamix version of Looking From A Hilltop.

From The Hip was recorded at Rockfield by Bernard Sumner of New Order, falling between their classic albums Power Corruption and Lies and Low-Life. It would be the only time that Sumner produced an entire album for another artist. The iconic cover art is by Peter Saville and Trevor Key, and employs the cryptic colour-coding favoured by the Factory design director at this time.

The original 1984 album appears on Disc 1 along with bonus tracks including both 12" versions of Looking From A Hilltop, as well as singles Dirty Disco II, Beating Heart and Back To Wonder. Disc 2 features a raft of previously unreleased material, including a 1984 BBC radio session, five tracks from the original album demo in 1983, a re-boot of Hilltop produced by Stephen Morris of New Order, and a brand new recording of Reflection by the current iteration of the group.

Liner notes include text by Vin Cassidy and Jon Savage. Six panel trifold digipack with 12 page booklet, inlding previously unseen images by Steve Farmery.

CD tracklist: (disc 1)

1. The Process
2. Looking From A Hilltop
3. Reflection
4. Prepare to Live
5. Program For Light
6. Desert
7. Beneath the Blade
8. Inspiration
9. Looking From A Hilltop - Restructure (FAC 108)
10. Looking From A Hilltop - Megamix (FAC 108)
11. Dirty Disco II (FBN 45)
12. Dirty Disco II (Premix)
13. Beating Heart - 12" remix
14. Back To Wonder - 12" version
15. Beating Heart - 12" version

CD tracklist: (disc 2)

1. Looking From A Hilltop (BBC)
2. Reflection (BBC)
3. Warhead (BBC)
4. The Process (demo)
5. Looking From A Hilltop (demo)
6. Prepare to Live (demo)
7. Reflection (demo)
8. Desert (demo)
9. Program For Light (demo)
10. Looking From A Hilltop (Stephen Morris Mix)
11. Reflection (Young Image)

Available on digipack CD and download from May 2014 onwards. A double vinyl edition (FACT 90) is also available.

From The Hip [FBN 33 CD]