Section 25
Section 25

Discography > Dark Light [FBN145]

Catalogue number

FBN 145 [Factory Benelux]

Release date

15 September 2023


Side A

A1. World's End
A2. My Outrage
A3. Pitch Black Box
A4. Love Cuts
A5. Colour Movement Sex & Violence

Side B

B1. Inner Drive
B2. 78
B3. Letter to America
B4. Memento
B5. Early Exit

Digital tracklisting

1. World's End
2. My Outrage
3. Pitch Black Box
4. Love Cuts
5. Colour Movement Sex & Violence
6. Inner Drive
7. 78
8. Letter to America
9. Memento
10. Early Exit
11. CMS&V Dub Mix
12. Program for Light (Outernationale Mix)


Cover photo: Peter Saville. Line-up: Vin Cassidy, Bethany Cassidy, Steve Stringer, Stuart Hill and Joanna Cassidy.

- -

Recorded in 2012, Dark Light is Section 25's first collection of new material since the tragic loss of founder Larry Cassidy in 2010, and marks a return to the smooth electro and synth-pop textures first explored on their seminal 1984 album From the Hip. These echoes are amplified by the presence of co-vocalists Beth and Jo Cassidy.

Much of Dark Light was produced in collaboration with remixer Derek Miller (aka Outernationale), and includes new versions of recent single tracks Colour Movement Sex & Violence and Inner Drive. Other stand-out cuts include future pop classic My Outrage.

In 2023, Factory Benelux presents a crystal clear vinyl edition. Only 500 copies will be pressed. This is the first time 'Dark Light' has been available on vinyl. Vinyl copies come with a free digital copy (supplied to customers via link sent by email) featuring extra tracks.

Also available: 4LP set of limited edition vinyl pressings of Part-Primitiv (FBN 130, 180g heavyweight black vinyl), Nature + Degree (FBN 135, purple vinyl), Retrofit (FBN 140, orange vinyl) and Dark Light (FBN 145, crystal clear vinyl). All albums with digital copy plus signed postcard and a bonus copy of the FBN 124 Alfresco live package.

Available to buy direct via Burning Shed.

Dark Light [FBN 145]; front cover detail